Directors/Trustees of EFAT

The Members and Directors/Trustees of EFAT are:

You can find out more about the Essa Foundation Academies Trust and how it operates here

The Essa Foundation Trust

An educational charity established by the Patel family. Essa Foundation Trust is a founding member of EFAT.

Anwer Ibrahim Patel is the managing director of Cohens Chemist Ltd one of the largest independent retail pharmacy chains in the country and has a number of other business interests. He holds an honorary doctorate from the University of Bolton for services to the community.   Anwer is a founding member and a director/trustee of the Essa Foundation Trust and EFAT. He is the Chair of the Board of Directors and Chair of the Local Governing Body of Essa Academy.


Chris Read is an education professional who currently works as an Adviser and Campaigns Officer at The New Schools Network.   Chris is Vice Chair of the Board of Directors.

Adam Collins is  a qualified chartered management accountant and has a master’s degree in strategic business management. He works with a locally based national firm providing property services. He is a founding member and a director/trustee of EFAT.

Nigel John Whittle is a chartered accountant. He is the finance director of two large companies and runs his own chartered accountancy practice providing services to the private sector and to public bodies, including local government. Nigel is a director/trustee of EFAT and is the Chair of Essa Primary Academy LGB. He has been a primary school governor for over 10 years.

Kate Longworth is a qualified solicitor specialising in the commercial property sector. Kate has also been a volunteer mentor for young people. She is a director/ trustee of EFAT and is Chair of the Board’s Audit and Risk Committee.

Dr Mohammed Sharif Salim is a former senior manager with substantial international experience in the Chemical Industry both in the UK and the USA.  Sharif has also had considerable experience working in the voluntary sector in community cohesion, equality and diversity. Sharif is a director/trustee of EFAT.

Charles Adegoroye is an ACCA Chartered Accountant with a demonstrated track record of achievements in public and private sector organisations.   Charles is a director/trustee of EFAT.

Andrew Cooper is the Chief Executive Officer for EFAT .

The Composition of the Board of Directors/Trustees is:

  • Sponsor Directors- up to 8 appointed by the Essa Foundation Trust
  • Academy Directors- up to 4 appointed by the Board of Directors
  • The Chief Executive Officer/Management Team Director – ex officio


What are the Roles of the Members and the Board of Directors/Trustees?

> The Trust’s Members and Directors/Trustees are responsible for ensuring that the Trust is solvent, well run and meets the needs for which it has been set up.

> The Trust must comply with company and charity law and with a range of legislation including that related to equality, employment, health and safety, education, and the protection of children.

> The Trust is the employer of all staff, has responsibility for, and control of, all revenue and capital funding and is the admissions authority for all academies in the Trust.

> Members and non executive Directors/Trustees of the Board serve as volunteers and receive no payment for their work.

> The Remit and Terms of Reference for the Board of Directors and its Committees (Scheme of Delegation) can be downloaded here.

> You can download copies of the agendas, reports, and minutes of meetings (except confidential items) of the Board and its Committees here- or from the webpage on Corporate Information.

> You can download a copy of the Trust’s most recent annual report and statement of accounts here-or from the webpage on Corporate Information.

> The Board of Directors is responsible for the overall governance of the Trust. Much of the day-to-day governance of each academy in the Trust is delegated by the Board to each Local Governing Body.

Student Login